Mt Ruapehu, Tongariro National Park New Zealand – Volcanic Eruption Photos

mt-ruapehu-eruption-tongariro-park-1995-1

Mt Ruapehu in Tongariro National Park New Zealand erupting during the 1995 event. I have a full eruption sequence on our website – click the image to view it.

This is what Volcano looks like during an eruption!  I can’t say that it is an experience that I want to repeat, but it was an experience…..Over here in New Zealand,  Mt Tongariro blew it’s lid this week (sadly, it did so in the middle of the night, so there are no interesting images of it).I thought I would share these shots that I made from the 1995 Ruapehu eruption. At the time I wasn’t a photographer, I just had a crappy point and shoot – and somehow I ended up shooting full eruption sequence by accident – I then panicked an drove for my life…..

Check out the full sequence (from puff of steam to bigger than this) on my website: sisson New Zealand photography
Cheers – Todd
Leave a Reply

